Busy Bitch Busts Burn-out and Boredom

Posted on August 4, 2010

1


How’s that for alliteration?

One problem, if you can call it that, with being my busy bitchy self is that I get bored easily.  This must sound completely ridiculous given that I am so busy… however, there are times, like the past couple of days, where I feel like I’ve accomplished enough, and that I just want to recharge my batteries a little.  And so I… nap… and watch tv…  And that’s all fine until I start to lose my mind because I’m sick of tv, sick of reading, and don’t feel like sleeping.  Uh-huh.

When I get into these types of funks, I need a sort of mental massage.  I need to shake things up a bit.  And yet, I also need to avoid tiring myself out by railing against boredom by just going full speed ahead into some other new and crazy activity.  When in these moods, my goals can actually be de-motivating, too — not everything in life can be a goal and sometimes productivity is overrated.

So – here’s what I am doing to combat the “busy bitch blues”…

1) In my mind there are few things in this world that can’t be cured with a great meal and a glass of good wine at a fun restaurant.  So the busy broker boyfriend and I set out this weekend for dinner at Origin.  It’s a small plates place where the kitchen is in the centre of the space.  Tres chicTres Kat.  If you go, ask for Table 30. 

2) Furniture shopping…  I’m trying to decorate my condo.  While I like the minimalist look, it would be good to have a bit more style and pop.  No, I didn’t buy anything.  But I did scope out a fabulous indoor tree.  Mr. Tree will get a post all to himself one day.  You wish I was kidding.  Anyway, I did shop around in some trendy places on King East, and such, and of course, I checked the IKEA site (love/hate), I couldn’t quite find anything I was looking for.  Nothing really spoke to me.  But I feel invigorated all the same.

3) I looked up art online.  This resulted in two things: 1) I have decided to paint my very first canvas (should be interesting); 2) I really like the work of Jackson Pollock.

4) I’ve found a couple of hobbies that aren’t related to any of my major goals (you know – the book, the job, the biz, the album), but that I find super fun.  One of them is getting my initial online PADI certification for future scuba diving fun.  Note that I have no plans to go scuba diving anytime in the next six months.  No matter.  That’s part of the fun!

And those are but four of the ways I’m trying to beat the busy bitch blues.  Until next time.

Posted in: Busy Bitch Blues