A Girl’s Gotta Eat

Posted on August 6, 2010

0


Those of you that know me personally will probably understand the double-entendre of the title of today’s post.  For those of you that don’t know me, let’s just say that it normally doesn’t refer to a woman’s need for food, although you could equate the related urge to a certain type of hunger.  Meow.

Alas, while that would be an interesting subject, this post is not about sex.  It’s about food.

I’m not a big fan of cooking.  I sometimes like cooking for the busy broker boyfriend because it makes me feel girly and I like to play that stereotypical woman’s role once in awhile.  But overall, especially when I’m cooking for myself, I just don’t feel that love of food that real chef/foodie-types do.  I don’t get all warm and fuzzy over a beautiful meal that I cooked for myself.  Frankly, I could care less.

But I digress…

My food choices are Primal Blueprint in nature.  Those of you who’ve been to dinner with me anything in the past few months will have noticed that I don’t eat any grains.  As in any.  As in ever.  I eat lots of meat and tons of vegetables.  And I don’t really do the sugar thing either.

The problem is, is that I’m getting bored with the foods I can order in or buy pre-made.  And really, they’re not entirely primal anyway, so I’d be better off…  dun-dun-dun… cooking for myself.  Blarg.  I knew this day would come.  I’ve dreaded its arrival.  And here it is.

So while I’m not making any big promises to myself, setting any time limits or creating any new goals (I can’t possibly handle another goal), I am recognizing that I can only get so far on the fuel I’m consuming.

I’ll let you know how my experiments with kelp noodles, cauliflower rice and coconut oil pan out.  If they’re anything like the primal cheesecake I tried to create for the busy broker boyfriend and I to eat, then at the very least they should provide me with some comedic content for this blog. 

Bon appetit.

Here are some of the resources I’ll be using.  Maybe you want to check them out, too.

Mark’s Daily Apple

Cosmopolitan Primal Girl

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: What I'm Eating