I Am Only One Bitch

Posted on August 17, 2010

0


I’m only one person.  I can only do so much.  But I have big, lofty goals and a busy social life.  How do I do it all?

Well, I don’t.

I have a team.

Sound pretentious?  I don’t care.  This is what works for me.  I’m sharing it with you here in case it might work for you.

Here are my rules of thumb:

1) If I absolutely HATE a certain task and regularly avoid it, then instead of chastising myself and making myself feel horrible, I outsource it.  This goes for anything from picking up my drycleaning to doing my taxes.  If it causes me anxiety and I can pay a small fee to make the problem go away, then I do.  I have a real live personal assistant for a few hours a week, and I’ve also used a virtual assistant service.  On that note, my PA is moving away (is she trying to escape me???), so I need a new right-hand man/woman.  I’ll share my search for a new PA here in another post.

2) If it’s something specialized and/or a big decision that I could really screw up, I hire the best expert I can find.  This goes for everything from my hair (which I get done at by Patrick at Salon Liberte) to real estate (another shameless plug for Darryl Flowers – my busy broker boyfriend).

3) I use my network.  There’s no harm or shame in asking for help.  If someone else knows how to do something and I don’t, or if I need an intro that will save me a ton of time, then I ask for my friends to lend their expertise.  At the same time, I offer the same back. 

4) I pick the things that I do best and focus on those.  If this means that I work all evening and therefore don’t have time to cook dinner, then so be it.  I buy myself something healthy but pre-prepared from the grocery store.   It tastes so much better for the fact that I avoided all of the aggravation involved in making it myself.

Huzzah.

Posted in: How I Do It